It’s not healthy to obsess over your follower count or number of friends. However, every once in a while, you may want to know if someone special has unfriended you on Facebook. How do you know who unfriended you on Facebook?
Unfriend vs. Unfollow vs. Block
Usually, there are signs that someone has unfriended you, unfollowed you, or blocked you on Facebook, like not seeing updates or not being able to find his/her profile on Facebook. But that doesn’t necessarily mean that he/she has unfriended you. You could have been blocked or simply unfollowed. Learn the differences below:
Unfriend: when someone unfriends you on Facebook, you will be removed from their friend list, and they from yours. You should be able to see their profile (in limited capacity depending on their privacy settings) and send a friend request again.
Unfollow: unfollow works differently. When someone unfollows you, the other person stops seeing your updates but still remain friends with you. Unfollow works the same for profiles as it does for groups/pages.
Block: if you search for the person’s profile but can’t find it, that’s when you know you have been blocked by the other person on Facebook. You will stop seeing any and all updates from them with no way left to communicate with them.
Now that you know the subtle differences between unfollow, unfriend, and block, let’s see how to find out who unfriended you on Facebook.
1. Are You Seeing Public or Private Posts?
There are two options you get when creating a new post for your Facebook Wall. You can either set it to “Public” or “Friends.” Public posts are viewable by all, irrespective of whether they are on your friends list or not. Private posts are for those who are in your friends list.
Public posts have a globe icon, whereas posts shared with friends have a two-person icon.
If you can view only public posts from a particular profile, they either unfriended you or only set public posts.
2. Check Your Friends List
This is the fastest and surest way to figure out whether someone doesn’t want to be friends with you anymore.
Open your Facebook profile and go to your friends list under your profile page. You will find all your friends listed on the left with a search bar at the top. Start typing the name to filter the results.
If you can find the name, you are still friends. If not, they have unfriended you. It is also possible that you have been blocked. To make sure that isn’t the case, read on.
3. Unfriended or Blocked? Search Facebook for Their Profile
We noted how blocking and unfriending someone can have some similar effects. To make sure you have been unfriended and not blocked on Facebook, use the search bar on the homepage to search for the person’s profile.
You may find some other profiles with similar or even the same names, but if you don’t see your friend’s profile in the search results, they have blocked you. If you do see their name, you were unfriended.
What to Do If Someone Unfriends You
You do have the option to send a fresh friend request to the person. Simply search for the profile, open it, and click on “Add Friend” to send a new friend request.
It is possible that they unfriended you on impulse and may feel differently now. Another option could be calling them first to figure out what happened if you are clueless about the issue that led to this drastic outcome.
Can You Still View the Person’s Updates and Photos If They Unfriend You?
You can see their profile but not their updates and photos unless they have been shared publicly. As discussed earlier, one of Facebook’s privacy settings allows users to share updates privately with their friends.
Much will also depend on the said profile’s privacy settings, but for the most part, you won’t be able to view, post, or comment on their private updates and photos unless you are tagged in them. Those photos and updates could still be visible to you.
You may also see some updates that involve common friends that you and that person share.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Do you receive a notification when someone unfriends you?
No. Facebook will not send you a notification if you have been unfriended by someone. The same is also true if you have been blocked or unfollowed.
2. Are there any third-party apps to find out who unfriended you on Facebook?
3. If someone unfriends you on Facebook, can you still follow them?
Yes and no. Each Facebook user can decide who can follow them using the Who Can Follow Me option under “Settings -> Settings & privacy -> Public posts.” Depending on the setting, you may or may not be able to follow their profile.
Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox