Examining your Facebook privacy settings is always a popular topic. You maybe have had it all set up the way you wanted it at one point, but Facebook is continually changing, and so are you and your needs for that matter. Relationships and friends change, as do interests, so the way you personally use Facebook is going to continue to change. The following is a look at the privacy settings, among others, in Facebook and what you can do to keep your account safe for the way you are currently using it.
The obvious place to start is with the Privacy settings. You can access this in the settings menu on the upper right once you’re logged into your account. If you’re on the Facebook app in iOS, it’s found in the left sidebar. From here you can control who sees your information and who can find you. In the “Who can see my stuff” section, you can control who can see your future posts, whether it’s only you, only your friends, your friends as well as their friends, or whether you just want to make them public. You can limit who sees your past posts that were shared with with friends of friends or public. Choosing this option will mean only your friends, and the friends of the people tagged will be able to see the past posts. This setting can be changed with each individual post as well. You also have an option to review everything you’ve been tagged in, have commented on, and have liked by clicking on “Use Activity Log.”
In “Who Can Look Me Up,” you can choose who can find you by using the email associated with your account or a mobile number you have associated with your account. You can choose between Everyone, Friends, and Friends of Friends. Another option is to choose whether or not you make it easier for search engines to find you. If you want them to be able to link to your timeline, you can turn this option on.
There are more ways to set your Facebook privacy settings than in the actually “privacy” tab. In the Security settings you can make your web-browsing through Facebook as secure as possible by navigating to HTTPS websites whenever possible. You might also want to know if your account is accessed from a computer or device not associated with the account. You can do that with Login Notifications. If you have reason to be worried about that, choose “Login Approvals” to make sure a security code is used whenever your account is accessed from a different browser and set app passwords for Facebook apps that don’t work with security codes. You can also see what devices are recognized by your account and look up all the recent sessions from your Facebook account, with it showing when, where, and how it was accessed.
In the Blocking settings, you can choose who and what to block with regard to people, apps, and invites. One of the most interesting ways to block a person is to put them on the Restricted List. They will be able to see the posts you make Public, but not the ones you publish only to your friends. Yet, they won’t find out that you moved them to the Restricted List. It’s a sneaky way to keep certain things private. Additionally, you can block event invites from certain people. You can also block users outright, where the only contact you will have will be on mutually used apps or posts of mutual friends. Are you tired of getting notifications from apps or invites to apps? You can block app invites from certain friends and can also block certain apps.
A not widely known Facebook privacy setting can be found in the Mobile settings. While this is the place to go to register your mobile phone and activate Facebook messages via text, it also has another great feature. Clicking on “Lose Your Phone?” allows you to remotely have the app sign you out. This way if someone else finds your phone, they won’t have access to your Facebook account.
While in the Blocking settings, you can block apps from notifying you, there are probably already apps you have given access to. You might not think about it, but every time you play a game or give access to a Productivity app, these apps now have access to your account, even if you don’t end up using the app again. When you initially allow access, you can now restrict it so that only you will see posts from this app. After you have allowed access, you can go into the App settings and remove the app completely. It’s a good practice to do this sporadically, as the number of apps can really mount up.
By following all these Facebook privacy settings, you can be sure that you keep your account secure. With the different ways listed here, you will be able to pick the level of security you’re looking for. It looks like a lot, but it will only take a few minutes of your time to be sure your time on Facebook has the privacy you desire.