How to Privately Browse Websites on Your Android Device

Private browsing on an Android device allows you to browse websites without having the data saved in your browser. Most browsers tend to save the history of your browsing. While you can always clear this web history on your device, a better approach to browsing privately would be to use the appropriate private browsing function given in the browser that you use. That way you will not have to clear the data when you quit the browser since your data will not be saved.

Most popular web browsers for Android do include the function to privately browse websites. Here’s how you can use the function in various browsers on your device:

Launch Google Chrome from the app drawer on your device.

Tap on the “Menu” (three dots) in the top-right corner, and it should pull down various options for you to select.

Open the Chrome menu.

From the options available to you, tap on the one that says “New incognito tab.” Incognito is a feature in Chrome that lets you browse¬†websites without having any of the data saved to your device.

Tap on 'New incognito tab.'

Once you have opened an incognito tab, you should see something like what is pictured below. It explains in brief what incognito does on your device.

About incognito in Chrome.

You can now start typing the website that you wish to visit in the URL bar and start to surf privately.

Firefox also comes with the private browsing feature and the following is how you can use it.

Launch Firefox from your app drawer.

Tap on the option given in the top right corner. In the image below, it is the icon with the “1” on it. It should pull down the browser menu for you.

Open the Firefox menu.

When the menu appears, tap on the “Mask” icon (second icon) from the top menu. The mask icon suggests private browsing.

Tap on the Mask icon.

Once in the mask tab, tap on the “Plus” icon in the top right corner, and it will launch a new private browsing tab for you.

Tap on the Plus icon.

You should be greeted with a message that explains what the private tab does in Firefox.

About private browsing in Firefox.

You’re all set for private browsing in Firefox.

Instead of a whole new function dedicated to private browsing, UC Browser lets you enable the private browsing mode in the normal windows or tabs. Your website data will not be saved as long as the option is enabled in your browser. Here’s how you can use it.

Launch UC Browser on your Android device.

Tap on the “Tab” count icon shown at the bottom. In the below image it is the icon that has the number “1” on it.

Tap on the 'Tab' count icon.

When the options appear, tap on the “Mask” icon located on the right hand side. It should enable the private browsing mode for you.

Tap on the 'Mask' icon.

You are all done.

Incognito Browsing has now been enabled, and you can start your private browsing.

To disable it, just tap the “Mask” icon again, and the feature will be deactivated.

If you haven’t yet switched to a third-party web browser for whatever reason, here’s how you can go incognito in it:

Launch the default stock browser on your device.

Tap on the “Windows” icon on the top panel. In the following screenshot it is the one with the digit “1” in it.

Tap on the 'Windows' icon.

You should now be able to see the incognito icon in the top right corner. Tap on it, and it will launch a new incognito tab in your browser for you to browse websites privately.

Tap the incognito icon.

You should see some information regarding the incognito mode. Just go through it once, and you should know exactly what it does for you.

About incognito mode.

And you are done.

Dolphin does come with the private browsing feature, and here’s how you can use it:

Launch Dolphin Browser on your device.

Tap on the Settings icon given in the top right corner. It should bring forth the settings menu on your screen.

Tap on the 'Settings' icon.

Tap on the “Incognito” (eye-icon) button, and it should be enabled on your device.

Tap on the 'Incognito' (eye-icon) button.

The browser should say that incognito has been activated.

Incognito browsing is turned on.

That’s all there is to it.

With some of the really great private browsing features like the ones mentioned above, you can have peace of mind while browsing websites knowing that the data will not be shared with others.