How to Download and Delete Your Entire Google Search History

By now you should know that Google is the undisputed leader in the Internet. Unless you don’t do your online searches with Google, chances are Google knows more about you than you do. For those who are really concerned about their privacy, Google now allows allows you to download and delete your entire Google search history.

Once requested, your entire search history will be archived and sent to your mailbox as well as saved to your Google Drive. We would suggest you go through the terms and conditions as they outline the risks and the responsibilities associated with downloading the search history. Listed below are a series of steps to retrieve your entire Google search history.

Log into your Google account.

In your browser, head over to the Web and Activity page and log in with your Google account.

Google Search history - hourly and daily activity.

Here you can see a dashboard with the frequency of your searches spread across several days, and it also lets you view other trends, including top queries and top clicks.

Download a copy of your Google Search history data.

All you need to do is go to the gear cog in the right-hand corner and click the “Download” option in the dropdown menu. Google will then pop up a window of important information which you are supposed to read but probably won’t. At the bottom, click on the “Create Archive” button.

Preparing your Google Search history data archive.

Google will then prepare the download and ask you to wait until it does its work. Once it is done, check your mailbox, and you should have received an email from Google that contains both the Google Drive link and also a zipped file that can be downloaded to your desktop.

The search history has a .json file extension and can be opened with any text editor.

The search history will come in the form of a .json file extension.

In addition to downloading, you might also want to get rid of the entire search history. All you need to do is to select the “Remove Item” option from the dropdown menu.

Choose 'Remove Items' from the menu.

Another dropdown will ask you the time period you want to delete the search history from. Selecting “from the beginning of time” will erase your entire history from the Google search.

That’s it.