If you don’t fee like changing the privacy settings on your Instagram account, but you also don’t want a certain user to access your pictures, you always have the option of blocking that person. The following guide will show you how easy it is, and in no time that annoying user will be a thing of the past.
To block any user on Instagram, you will need to launch the Instagram app and go to the profile of the person you want to block. (You can do this as well if you wish to block a regular user or any organization).
Once you have accessed the person’s profile, click on the three vertical dots in the upper right-hand corner of your screen, but if you are using your iPhone, look for an arrow. You should now see six options: Block, Report, Copy Profile URL, Send Message, Send Profile as Message and Turn on Post Notifications. After choosing “Block,” Instagram will ask you if you are sure that you want to block this user, so any accidental or unwanted blocks are not done.
If you were to block the wrong person, that user would no longer be able to find your account, and it would seem as if you eliminated it (if your account is private). If your account is public, that person will still be able to find you through comments you made on other user’s accounts or by just typing your Instagram’s url: http://www.instagram.com/username.
How to Unblock Someone on Instagram
Have you forgiven that user for being so annoying and want to give him or her a second chance? If you do, unblocking someone is as easy as blocking them. To unblock someone, you just need to follow the same steps you did when you blocked them in the first place, but “Block” will now be replaced by “Unblock.” Just tap on the wanted action and you are good to go. Remember, you can only block and unblock users from the official Instagram app and not from the web app.
What Happens After you Block Someone on Instagram
When you block someone on Instagram, the other person doesn’t get a notice that they have been blocked. They will only notice because they won’t be able to interact with you or see any updates from you. You should also keep in mind that if the blocked person mentions you using the “@” symbol, you would see that in your updates. The blocked person’s likes and comments will not be eliminated eit her.
To erase a user’s comments on your pictures, you need to launch the Instagram mobile app and open the comments. If you’re using your iPhone, press the Comments button right under the picture to access the comments. If you are using your Android device, tap on the comment bubble, look for the comment you want to erase, select it and you should see a trash can icon on the upper right-hand corner.
The person you decided to block can mention you on Instagram by using your username, but this isn’t going to appear in Activity. After blocking someone, their Likes will also be right where they left them, and they can also continue to see your comments and likes on other pictures.
There are various reasons why you might want to block someone on Instagram, but if you ever decide to do it, now you know how to do it and what happens after. Have you ever had to block someone on Instagram? Let us know in the comments.