Apple to Let You Download All Your Data They Have Collected, Starting with Europe

Apple is complying with the new General Data Protection Regulation ahead of the deadline, and they will now let you download all your data they have collected on you. This will be done with a new tool, starting with the European Union.

The General Data Protection Regulation, or GDPR, is designed to give Internet users more control over what information is collected about them and how it’s collected. You can find out everything you need to know about GDPR in Miguel’s comprehensive article.

All Apple users can manage their data. You simply need to visit privacy.apple.com. This site asks you to sign in with your Apple ID and password and will then take you to a page that describes how Apple protects your privacy on your Apple ID.

news-apple-download-data-id

Clicking “Continue” takes you to another page where it will allow you to “Manage Your Data.” It gives you choices of “Correct your data” and “Delete your account.” The latter is self-explanatory.

news-apple-download-data-manage

If you want to correct your data and download it as well, you can click “Get started” under “Correct your data.” This asks you to sign in once again, then takes you to a page that shows all your devices, your address, your birthday, your Apple subscriptions, etc.

There is also an option there to manage your data. Once I clicked this, it just sent me back to the beginning of this process. I am assuming this is because I am not in Europe, and this tool is so far only open to the EU.

If you want to have a record of what Apple has on you, you can download it from this tool, if you’re in Europe, though Apple has promised that it will be worldwide eventually. This will include app usage, documents, photos, videos, contacts, calendars, bookmarks, and mail.

It will not include app, book, movie, TV show, or music purchases nor your Apple Online Store transaction history and Marketing communications history, though there is a link to follow if you would like that information as well.

There’s a third option as well. You can choose to deactivate your data. It will become temporarily unavailable to you or Apple, or anyone else. But realize if you do this that iMessage, iTunes, and iCloud won’t work. You can reactivate your account at any time and get all your information back, but this may take up to seven days.

If you’re uncomfortable with anyone holding onto your information, you can also just permanently delete all of your data. It can again take up to seven days for your delete request to be approved. And you need to be careful, as once it’s deleted, there’s no way to get it back.

All of this is in your control. All data, some data, no data. Apple will only be in control of what you want them to be in control of. Will you choose to download all your data on Apple? Or will you choose to delete it? Let us know below in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

Yeah! You've decided to leave a comment. That's fantastic! Check out our comment policy here. Let's have a personal and meaningful conversation.