How to Prevent Facebook From Auto-suggesting Photos Of You To Friends

Facebook has recently unveiled a facial recognition feature that can associate your face and your accountand automatically enabled “auto-suggest photos of you to friends” feature to all users. What this means is that when your friend uploads a (unglamorous) photo of you (or someone that looks like you), Facebook will auto-suggest your name so your friend can tag you in the photo. I am not sure about you, but there are occasions where I don’t want my name to appear in the photo (no one want to remember those unglamorous times), least allowing Facebook to auto-suggest my name for tagging.

This is how you disable it:

1. Login to your Facebook account and go to the Privacy Settings. (Located under the Account link at the top right hand corner)

2. Select the Custom tab on the left sidebar and click the “Customize Settings” link.

facebook-customize-setting

3. Scroll down the list until you see the entry “Suggest photos of me to friends”. Click the “Edit Settings” button.

facebook-edit-setting

4. Change the “Enabled” to “Disabled” and click Okay.

facebook-disable-autosuggest

That’s it.

It is almost a must to check Facebook privacy settings regularly because you never know when Facebook will enable a feature without your knowledge. One thing is for sure, your privacy can never be taken for granted in Facebook.

What do you think, do you like Facebook to auto-suggest photos of you to friends?