How Not to Place a Deleted File in the Recycle Bin

Whenever we need to delete a file/folder in Windows Explorer, it does not delete the file/folder totally. Instead it places a copy of the file/folder in the Recycle Bin. And again we have to go to the Recycle Bin, locate the file & then delete it again to remove it completely. But let me show you how to tweak the settings of Windows which will completely delete a file/folder whenever we delete a file using the Windows Explorer.

Trick 1 :

Follow the steps below to tweak your Windows XP :

1. Go to START -> RUN, Or simply press Windows key + R.

2. Type in “cmd” in the RUN window.

3. In the Command Prompt type “gpedit.msc” & hit enter.

command-prompt-gpedit

4. Now the Group Policy window will open.

5. In the left pane, select the Administrative Templates under User Configuration.

group-policy-window

6. Now in the right pane, double-click the Windows Components & then Windows Explorer.

settings-delete

7. Now in the list of content that opens find & right-click on “Do not move deleted files to the Recycle Bin”.

do-not-move-files-to-recycle-bin

8. Now select Properties. And in the resulting check the “Enabled” radio button and click Apply. In the Explain tab you can read what Microsoft says about this tweak.

enable-permanant-deletion

Now you have your windows tweaked not to send a copy of the deleted file/folder to the Recycle Bin instead delete it completely.

Trick 2 :

This trick works fine for both XP & Vista as well

In case we want to delete a file directly bypassing the Recycle Bin we can use Shift+Delete. but this can also be done pressing Delete button only. Follow the steps to get your job done.

1. Right-click the Recycle bin icon on Desktop.

2. Click the Properties.

3. In the resulting window, change the settings as shown in the screenshot.

settings-delete-permanantly-vista-xp

4. Now every time we try to delete a file to the recycle bin or totally, we get a confirmation message. This message can also be bypassed by changing the settings as shown in the screenshot above.

You may need to reboot the computer to set the changes. And sorry to say sometimes like all other tricks it may not work for you at all. But do not doubt the tweak, as you can check what Microsoft says about this (step 8 for trick 1). Well that’s all for now.