How to Log Out From Gmail, Facebook and Other Web Services Remotely

There are times when you are not using your own PC to log in to Gmail or Facebook. This could happen when you are travelling and checking your email in an Internet cafe. The worst thing that could happen is forgetting to log out of your accounts, making them vulnerable to exploits and attacks. Here are the ways to log out from Google, Facebook and LinkedIn remotely if you have forgotten to log them out on another PC.

To log out of Google, all you have to do is to log in to Gmail (on the desktop) and scroll down to the bottom of the page. Click the “details” link below the “Last account activity.”

gmail-details-link

On the window that pops up, click the “Sign out all other sessions” button.

gmail-sign-out-other-sessions

That’s it.

Log in to your Facebook account and click the Down arrow at the top right corner of the menu bar. Select Settings.

facebook-settings-link

Go to the “Security” settings and click the section “Where you’re logged in.”

facebook-logged-in-link

From here, you can view which PC, location and time that you are logged in. Click the “End Activity” link to log out of that session.

facebook-end-activity-link

That’s it.

Dropbox

Log in to your Dropbox account on your desktop browser and click on the “Settings” link under your name. Go to the “Security” tab. Scroll down the page and under “Sessions” you can find all the logged in sessions.

dropbox-logout-other-session

To logo ut of Dropbox on another browser, click the cross beside the entry and you are done.

Unlike Google and Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter doesn’t come with a way to detect sessions on other PCs and allow you to logout remotely. However, if you change your LinkedIn/Twitter password on any browser, it will automatically close all active sessions.

Note: We will update this post as we uncover more apps that allow you to log out from sessions remotely.

It would be great if all web apps came with a way for you to log out of sessions remotely; unfortunately, only a few of them do. It is, thus, very important for you to remember to log out of your accounts when you are done with your session, even on your own computer.

Do you like what you read here?

Receive the latest update in your inbox.

Or connect with us: