How To Forget / Delete A WiFi Network in Windows 8.1

Updates to operating systems are usually a good thing, as they bring feature enhancements, improvements etc. that are not only useful but also quite essential. Windows 8.1 is a really good example of such a scenario. The update, which was released a few months back, attended to all the holes left gaping in its predecessor, Windows 8. In all honesty, it actually made the Windows 8 experience actually usable as well as worth enjoying. However, with the release of Windows 8.1, there were still some nuisances that were still left and slipped through the crack. One of these, which we here at MTE would classify as plain stupid, was the inability to forget a Wi-Fi network if you were connected one.

Yes, that’s correct. Windows 8.1 does indeed have an “inability” which doesn’t easily let it forget a WiFi network if you’ve ever established a connection. What this actually means is if you’ve ever connected your PC to a WiFi network in your school or office, you can’t really forget it as you’d do in Window 8, which allowed you to achieve the same feature through the context menu. Fortunately, if you’re really desperate and need your PC to forget the WiFi network for particular reasons, there are two different ways – different approaches through which you can achieve just that, and in this post we’ll be showing you how.

Forget-Wifi-Windows8.1-Main

This approach is more suited to programmers who are more used to the “hackerish” way of doing thing, utilizing the high-useful and advanced Command Prompt that Windows has employed for quite some time now. All you need to do is open up the Command Prompt window and enter the following:

 netsh wlan show profiles

Forget-Wifi-Windows-8.1-Screenshot1

A list will pop up showing all the known profiles. Simply identify the name of the one that you want to remove, and enter the following command:

 netsh wlan delete profile name="profile_name"

where “profile_name” will be replaced with the actual name of the profile that you want to remove. For example, in the screenshot below, the profile “PTCLNitroCloud-AC4” is to be removed/forgotten:

Forget-WiFi-Windows-8.1-Screenshot-2

And that’s just about it. The profile is removed and the network will show as a new, unidentified network the next time it’s in range.

Another easier method is already present in Windows 8.1, just a little confusing. You see, if the OS fails to connect to a known/remembered network, it will automatically give you the option to forget that connection. However, you cannot really force a non-connection to a known network by default, so the easiest way to achieve this would be to change the security key of the Wi-Fi network you would like to forget to an incorrect one, and then using this “Forget this Network” option. The downside to this approach is that is will only work on connections which are secured.

Found these tips helpful? Tell us in the comments below.