Protect Your Sensitive Data by Clearing Your Chrome Sync Data

Chrome has a convenient sync feature that lets you access your history, passwords, bookmarks, open tabs and more across devices. While it is indeed useful, it can also be dangerous – especially if your account is compromised. Since this sensitive data is connected to your Google account, a hacker can easily gain access to all of it just by hacking your account.

If you’re worried about this happening, your best bet is to clear out your Chrome sync data altogether and stop using the feature. Here’s how to do that.

Follow these steps to clear your sync data in Chrome.

1. Go to Google Dashboard (you may need to verify your password even if you are already signed in).

2. Click on the “Manager Chrome Sync” link, which is underneath the “Chrome Sync” section.

3. On the next page, click on the “Stop and Clear” button at the bottom of your data.

You’ll see a warning notification letting you know that you can’t get your data back once cleared, and it may take several hours for it to complete. Just click on “OK” and you’re done.

via Tech-Recipes

Image Credit: elhombredenegro